Rutgers University’s very own global citizen

 

 

Not all students can say they are a part of two collegiate honor societies, have founded their own on-campus organization, and spent a summer in China by the age of 21. For Marie Callahan, a Rutgers Senior majoring in social work, these achievements are only a drop in the bucket of her success in her undergraduate career. Originally from South Jersey, Marie has been nothing but ambitious in her pursuit to work in the international social welfare realm. She founded Rutgers Global Citizens in 2014, an organization that aims to encourage social and cultural awareness among schools across the world. Through RUGC, she created a partnership between New Brunswick elementary school and a primary school in Botswana. She is the director of fundraising for her sorority Delta Gamma, and is most recently working as a project intern for the Mandela Washington Fellowship. She has won several scholarships for her work and has completed 600 hours of service work under the AmeriCorps Bonners Leaders Program. It is safe to say Marie’s record is nothing short of impressive. “My mother is my motivation in life. She is living with schizoaffective disorder. Therefore, I grew up with my Aunt and Uncle. But, my mom taught me something so important. Treat every single individual you meet with same compassion and respect. I saw what it was like for her to be mistreated so, I vowed to myself that I am here for one sole reason. To make a difference”

