RUPA’s Scarlet Harvest Celebrates Fall

Written Blog Post By Laura Curry

Between 3 and 6 p.m. on Wednesday, Oct. 14, RUPA hosted the Scarlet Harvest on Douglass Campus’s Woodlawn.

It was a partly sunny day with occasional wind gusts. The air had a chill to it, which caused students to bundle up in sweatshirts, scarves and beanies. These students lined up for free food at various booths setup across the lawn. Dishes included sweet potato waffle fries, chicken (or turkey) pot pie, corn fritters, pumpkin pie and DIY smore’s. These smore’s required fire pits, which filled the air with the scent of burning wood, and this added to the festive feeling of the event.

I arrived at the Scarlet Harvest at 4:45 p.m. after my last class of the day, and the food lines appeared to have over 60 people in each one. However, I knew the event offered much more than food, so I went to explore before my favorite New Brunswick alternative folk band, Cold Weather Company, performed.

I stopped and watched as the mechanical bull flung off an unfortunate student onto the padded flooring, and then I wandered over to the craft table.

Students stood decorating mason jars with paint, glitter and stickers for a souvenir from the event.

Right next to the craft tables, a caricaturist sat drawing none other than caricatures for students as they posed. One of them looked very festive for Halloween due to a drawing of a black cat on top of a girl’s head.

Based on the constant flow of students, the most popular feature was the photobooth where students could sit on bales of hay next to pumpkins, chrysanthemums and smiling scarecrows.

After exploring, I walked over to “reserve” a seat on a bale of hay in front of the exceptionally large stage, and looked forward to Cold Weather Company’s set. The band’s performance was the perfect way to end the Scarlet Harvest, and I left satisfied with the uplifting lyrics of their latest song “Unbound” stuck in my head: “I won’t be bound, I won’t look down.”

Cold Weather Company’s pianist and recent Rutgers graduate, Steve Shimchick, said that they were thankful to be back at the Scarlet Harvest for the second year in a row, and just like last year, the event was a success.

