City Candidates Unopposed as Election Day Approaches

As the General Election draws nearer, incumbent mayoral candidate Jim Cahill and City Council members Kevin Egan and Rebecca Escobar are running unopposed in their bids for reelection.

All three candidates are running on the same ticket representing the Democratic Party for four year terms. This summer’s primary election was the first time Mayor Cahill faced no opponents, and the Republican Party has not posted a mayoral candidate since 1998, according to This means Mayor Cahill will serve an unprecedented seventh term, continuing his 23 years of service as Mayor of the City of New Brunswick.

According to the city’s official website, City Councilwoman Rebecca Escobar was elected to City Council in 2010 and served as its vice president from 2011 to 2012 before beginning her current term as president in January 2013.  City Councilman Kevin Egan, who was also first elected in 2010, grew up in New Brunswick. He is a graduate of Rutgers University with a degree in management and labor studies. Also on the ballot are candidates for County Freeholder, U.S. Senate, and U.S. House of Representatives.

In the months leading up to the election, the New Brunswick Democratic Organization has been disseminating information explaining the party platform.  One such campaign pamphlet, provided by T.K. Shamy, chairperson of the Democratic Organization, highlights both plans for the future and recent accomplishments of the Cahill administration. Talking points include the construction of affordable housing, a stable municipal tax rate, job creation, daily breakfast programs, housing for domestic violence survivors, safe bike lanes, and the hiring of additional police officers.  The same pamphlet urges voters to “vote for all Democrats on Column B” in November.

In a press release from the New Brunswick Democratic Organization, Mayor Cahill discussed what his administration has accomplished during his service, the plans he has for the future, and his gratitude for being able to serve.

“New Brunswick is the only home I’ve known and there’s no greater privilege than to serve one’s community,” Cahill said. “As long as I can continue to work as an effective agent for positive change and growth, I’m honored to help lead our ongoing efforts to make New Brunswick the best it can be.”

General elections will be held from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 4. Additional candidates on the ballot are as follows:

  • County Freeholder: Democrats Carol Barrett and Charles Tomaro, and Republicans Richard J. Green and Stephanie M. Bartfalvi
  • U.S. Senate: Republican Jeff Bell, Democrat Cory Booker, and Independents Hank Schroeder, Jeff Boss, Joseph Baratelli, Antonio Sabas, and Eugene Martin Lavergne
  • U.S. House of Representatives: Republican Anthony E. Wilkinson, Democrat Frank Pallone, Jr., and Independent Dorit Goikhman.

You can find your voting location here:

You can view a sample ballot here: